Hi All,

Spent yesterday priming watercolor paper for my oil painting. It was great fun. I now have a stack of boards primed (5 x 7, 8x 10, 11 x 14) and a fair amount of paper sizes between 6 x 8 to 16 x 20) primed in Storm Blue and in Soft Yellow.

So with all that material to work with, I got right at it – Here is one of my sketches.

Swan 8 x 10 Oil Pastel on Sanded Paper

Here is another sketch of a  Tree on the Thornapple. I used a little different technique for the background. I laid down some ultramarine, then white, the ceurleran in diagonal strokes. It worked our pretty well.

Tree on Thornapple 8 x 10 Oil Pastel on Sanded Paper

Finally, I want to share my prize for this weekend – I am working on a 12 x 16 oil painting of a my tree (well, it is not mine, but I really like it’s shape). This is a work in progress (WIP). But it speaks to me, so I’m happy so far!

Tree in Lowell 12 x 16 Oil on Sanded Paper

Let me know if you have any comments.

Happy 4th!

