Well, I think that painting is SO EXCITING! It was raining this morning and Niki and I were up at the usual time (6:30am), so I had some time to watch art videos

http://www.explore-oil-pastels-with-robert-sloan.com/

Which inspired me to try something new – I used oil solube oil pastels as an underpainting for my regular oil pastels and I was very happy with the results!

Saugatuck State Park - 9 x 12 Oil Pastel on Watercolor paper

It took me a few hours, but I was very happy with the results.

Next,  I worked on my swans. I didn’t get as far as I’d like, don’t know if I will finish it. Generally feel pretty ambivalent. But here it is for your perusal…

Ludington Swans 13 x 17 Oil Pastel on Sanded Paper

There – That was alot harder than I thought that it should be!!

Now, for the most exciting part of the day – I started yet ANOTHER dune picture on sanded 300lb watercolor paper with Oil Sticks. I primed the paper myself and it is very textured. This is the reason why I paint. Take a look and let me know what you think

Saugatuck Dunes with Shelly - 16 x 20, Oil Stick on Primed WC Paper

Finally, I just can’t leave that wacky IRIS alone – more paint today – It is looking less psychodelic all the time. Maybe that’s not such a good thing…..

Lowell Iris - 13 x 17 Oil on sanded Paper

That’s all for today – Will be on the road tomorrow, but will try to post something tomorrow night.

