Still sketching and drawing and doing value studies. These are ALL good things. I have to learn to USE my oil sticks effectively so that I can produce CONSISTENT results (blah blah blah). These are things that I tell myself, my art instructor never says anything that mundane. She is kind and generous with her praise and knows that I try very hard. Even though some of my results are less than stellar. SHE IS GREAT! SO, what did I do this weekend? Value sketches.. and I did some quick tiny 5 x 7 oils just to try to get the values. I will only show you the one that turned out okay (the other I will throw away and we will never speak of it again)

Saugatuck Dunes - Charcoal

Saugatuck Dunes – Charcoal

 

 

Saugatuck Dunes - Charcoal

Saugatuck Dunes – Charcoal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saugatuck Dunes - Charcoal

Saugatuck Dunes – Charcoal

 

 

Lk Michigan - Charcoal

Lk Michigan – Charcoal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the oil stick sketch – 15 minutes (dark, light, medium)

Saugatuck Dunes - Oil Stick 5 x 7

Saugatuck Dunes – Oil Stick 5 x 7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lastly, I worked on Rocky… He is mostly dry and I will be taking him to class with me — He needs HELP!! (He is NO WHERE NEAR DONE YET!)  I really need some practice with the tools of my trade!

Rocky - Oil Sticks on Gessoed Paper

Rocky – Oil Sticks on Gessoed Paper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

