Spring has sprung (sort of)! There is still a chance of a wintry mix later this week, but the herons are BACK in the wetlands. They were performing touch and goes for us this morning. So graceful, so gorgeous! We were happy to see them. It has been a long winter. I’m not sure where we left off last time. I wasn’t able to make it to my art class this last week, so am pretty excited for Tues afternoon to arrive. I did some drawing (thus the title of this post). But my work on “edges” will have to wait til I have more time next week. Spring cleaning was on my mind this weekend. Here are my charcoals. I have ALMOST finished my sketchbook. I did order another, but the paper is NOT the same. If all else fails, I may have to cut up some Cansons and clip it together to make my own sketchbook. Let’s get on with it! If any of these are repeats, I apologize.

Pelican - Charcoal on Craft paper

Pelican – Charcoal on Craft paper

Egret - Charcoal on Craft paper

Egret – Charcoal on Craft paper

 

 

Tern - Charcoal on Craft paper

Tern – Charcoal on Craft paper

 

Now, do you get the title? The next is NOT a bird, but an flower. The first is just a sketch of an orchid, the next jpg is an Inktense sketch on canvas. I am always excited when I start a new canvas, and a little scared. Inktense pencils and sticks help me cover large areas with vivid color. The canvas is 9 x 12 and I hope to get painting on it at class this week!

Orchid - Charcoal on Craft paper

Orchid – Charcoal on Craft paper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Orchid 9 x 12, Inktense on Canvas

Orchid 9 x 12, Inktense on Canvas

One last thing, as you know, I have been working on some small Oil Stick paintings. I DID gesso up some canvases this weekend, and here is a 5 x 7 that I reworked this weekend. Take a look, it sure did photograph BLUE! Have a great week! Hope to catch up with you next week!

Dunes - 5 x 7 Oil Bar on Canvas

Dunes – 5 x 7 Oil Bar on Canvas

 

Dunes - 5 x 7 Oil Bar on Canvas

Dunes – 5 x 7 Oil Bar on Canvas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

