I have been working steadily on the 24 x 36, but it is not in any shape to show you. The same for a 16 x 20 sunrise on the Atlantic. But, I have been messing around with different types of paper (WC paper, canvas paper and mixed media paper) with a combination of WC and Acrylics. I have had varying results.

First few are just WC on WC Paper. I bought a set a Van Gogh Watercolors when I was in Amsterdam 19 years ago. I have just about used up all the colors except for the black. Those are the only WC that I have used for the paintings.

9 x 12 WC on Mixed Media paper

9 x 12 WC on Mixed Media paper

5 x 7 WC on WC paper

5 x 7 WC on WC paper

9 x 12 WC on WC paper

9 x 12 WC on WC paper

The last painting is acrylic on Canvas paper. I have to admit that I was impressed with the results. I liked the texture of the painting. I used a palette knife to apply “gobs” on yellow and blue paint for the grass, then used the palette knife to “move” it around. I am pleased with the results. It’s something that I might try on a “real” painting, not just a sketch.

9 x 12 Acrylic on Canvas Paper

9 x 12 Acrylic on Canvas Paper

All in all, it was a good week for sketching!

