There are a few topics that I eventually like to discuss… My recent experiments with masking fluid….Nah! Boring! More MonoPrints… Nah!! (Noooo. Not another Mono-Print!) How about drawing and painting the same tree I photographed in California over and over again? Now that could be promising.

I have been experimenting again. This time with different surfaces, (paper, canvas, boards), different grounds (nothing, Gesso, Golden Light Molding Paste), Different drawing material (pencils, charcoal, Sharpie Water based markers, Liquitex Acrylic Markers and just plain old brushes). I am attempting to find my way through all the art supplies that are available. I NEED to find my niche.

The first  is 5 x 7, canvas, with Gesso and Golden Light Molding Paste. Once the ground finally dried and I started applying paint, I was IN LOVE!! The surface was so Absorbent! Beautiful texture.

The second is 5 x 7, paper, with Colourfix Ground for Pastels. I used Golden Fluid Acrylics squeezed through a needle nose applicator. Another great way to paint without using a paint brush! and I really liked the control that I had over the acrylic.

 

Daily-Exercises004

Daily-Exercises005

The next 3 drawing are on Utrecht Drawing paper (a personal favorite). They all began as humble pencil drawings. The last one was enhanced with a new product (at least to me) , Sharpie water based markers. I have had a problem in the past with markers bleeding through paper, and white markers that don’t cover (thin watery paint!) Hurrah for Sharpie. They have done it again! They didn’t bleed through and the white covered the pencil marks. I’m impressed.

Hope that you all have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend! Send me a comment, if you are so inclined. I’d love to hear from you

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

